Connecticut Area Codes

4 area codes serve Connecticut

Connecticut Area Codes Overview

Connecticut, a state in the New England region of the United States, is served by multiple area codes that define telecommunications regions within its borders. The predominant area code is 203, covering the southwestern part of the state, including cities like Bridgeport, New Haven, and Stamford. In addition, the 860 area code spans the majority of Connecticut, encompassing cities such as Hartford, Norwich, and New London. The overlay area code 959 serves the same regions as 860. These area codes facilitate efficient communication across Connecticut's diverse urban and rural landscapes, connecting communities and businesses in this historic state. As technology and population growth continue to shape telecommunications needs, Connecticut's area codes play a crucial role in ensuring seamless connectivity throughout the region.

Largest 29 cities in Connecticut

City Population
Bridgeport 144,229
New Haven 129,779
Hartford 124,775
Stamford 122,643
Waterbury 110,366
Norwalk 85,603
Danbury 80,893
New Britain 73,206
West Hartford 63,268
Meriden 60,868
Bristol 60,477
West Haven 55,564
Stratford 51,384
Milford 51,271
East Hartford 51,252
Middletown 47,648
Norwich 40,493
Shelton 39,559
Torrington 36,383
Trumbull 36,018
Naugatuck 31,862
Manchester 30,577
Newington 30,562
East Haven 29,257
New London 27,620
Wethersfield 26,668
Westport 26,391
North Haven 24,093
Darien 20,732

Connecticut Area Codes List