District of Columbia Area Codes

2 area codes serve District of Columbia

District of Columbia Area Codes Overview

The District of Columbia, commonly known as Washington, D.C., primarily utilizes two area codes—202 and 771. The iconic 202 area code encompasses the entire district and is synonymous with the nation's capital. It has long been associated with government offices, historical landmarks, and the political heart of the United States. In 2020, the 771 overlay was introduced to address the increasing demand for phone numbers in the region. While 202 remains the dominant area code, 771 ensures a continued supply of telephone numbers for new residents and businesses. Together, these area codes symbolize the rich history, political significance, and vibrant community of the District of Columbia.

Largest 1 cities in District of Columbia

City Population
Washington 601,723

District of Columbia Area Codes List